The Alaska Suite: a story of beauty, loss and hope

Alaska Suite promo graphic by Nelda Swiggett
The City of Kirkland and Kirkland Interfaith Network invite you to a live streaming performance of The Alaska Suite by the Nelda Swiggett Quintet on Thursday, April 22, 2021, 7:30PM to 8:45PM. The event will be live streamed on LoudSwell and on the City of Kirkland Facebook page. No registration is needed.
Nelda Swiggett Quintet

The Alaska Suite features a five-piece chamber jazz ensemble performing the original music of Seattle pianist and composer Nelda Swiggett. The performance engages the power of artistic expression — live music, spoken words, images and poetry — to connect audiences deeply and emotionally to the scientific realities of climate change. Ultimately a story of hope, the performance leaves audiences inspired to take action, and play a role in facilitating society’s response to climate change.

“The combination of the music, your spoken words, and the images was magnificent. What a beautiful way to communicate many facets of climate change, and to draw people in.” — Elizabeth Burton
      • Nelda Swiggett – piano, compositions, narrative, curated images
      • Julian Smedley – violin
      • Clif Swiggett – trombone, percussion
      • Chris Symer – bass
      • Adam Kessler – drums
      • Jill McGrath – poetry

For more information visit